L.I. Who – November 8 – 10, 2013

577452_440889296017813_1762290296_n

This one is going to be short; a) because I’m still exhausted, and b) because working a convention means I don’t have as much to say about it as a fan.

Anyway, last weekend I had the pleasure of working at a brand new Doctor Who convention called L.I. Who.

I’ve been going to conventions since I was eleven years old, and specifically Doctor Who conventions for the past five years. This one was special. Despite spending a *lot* of time running around, I still found myself having fun. Seeing old friends, meeting new friends, and catching up with people I only see a few times a year.

Things weren’t perfect, but having been to a few first year conventions, L.I. Who definitely didn’t feel like it was new. The amount of experience behind it was obvious.

Working a convention is a completely different experience than attending one. Even when you end up unofficially working at the ones you attend as a fan. You spend a lot more time running around and a lot less time relaxing in the lobby. But it’s so worth it.

Over the weekend, I had some realisations about myself and how I experience fandom and conventions. Some things that I’m not quite finished mentally processing, and some things that I’ve talked about.

I will say this though: I never imagined I could be so lucky. The people I’ve met, things I’ve done, and experiences I’ve had would never have happened without Doctor Who.

Leave a Reply

