Three Weeks ‘Til Baltimore Comic Con

Baltimore Comic Con

Baltimore Convention Center
Sat & Sun, Sept. 7-8, 2013

As of today, we are just less than three weeks away from Baltimore Comic Con. And though I’ve only attended once before, it very quickly proved itself to be one of my favourite conventions.

So here are some of the reasons why I love it and some of the things I’m most anticipating.

Why I love Baltimore Comic Con

  • Friendliness. No other comic convention staff has made me feel as comfortable as the people at Baltimore Comic Con. Not once did I get the impression that I was in the way or that my questions were a nuisance. And I heard the same sentiment from many other attendees.
  • Cost. At its base price, the convention only costs $40 for two days. Even if you buy Saturday and Sunday separately, the difference is only $5. Compare this to New York Comic Con, where four days cost $85, three cost $65, and single days are $30-50. And at Wizard World, four days passes were $85, there was no option for two or three days, with single days ranging from $35 to $55. And that’s not even mentioning the $475 VIP Pass at NYCC or the $200+ prices for Wizard World’s VIPs.  Baltimore Comic Con offers a VIP ticket ($99), Jay and Silent Bob tickets ($40-75), and the option for a Friday night All-Star Reception ($195).
  • Convenience and location. The amount of transportation available, both to and within Baltimore, is amazing. Amtrak and Greyhound are both less than two miles away, the airport is less than ten. The taxi I took from the bus station last year, cost me $6. At other conventions, the trains/subways alone were more expensive than that. The convention center itself is only a few minutes walk from the hotels. If you get hungry, there are restaurants everywhere, from food court to sit down, in every price range and variety you can imagine.
  • Guests. The number of guests who attend Baltimore Comic Con is incredible. Some names I recognise right away, some I don’t, some make me think, “Now that’s one of the people I have to meet.”  But with the amount of people who are there, I know I’m never going to meet everyone I want to, but I also know I’ll never be disappointed, because there’s always someone amazing to speak to.
  • Artists Alley. I have a weakness for art. I’m sure I’ve said that before, but it bears saying again. And Baltimore Comic Con has a LOT of artists. I could get lost in Artists Alley for hours (or days if I had the opportunity). And here, it doesn’t feel cramped. Busy, yes. And busy is good. But I never feel like I’m going to run someone over or be run over if I stop to look or chat to someone.

What I’m Looking Forward to This Year

  • Catching up with friends. Comic conventions are a relatively small world. People I meet at one con will show up at another I’m at. So this will be a chance to catch up with friends I only see once or twice a year.
  • Meeting new friends. I’m not particularly outgoing, but I’m good at talking geek. And I’m a lot less self-conscious about it than I am about other subjects. Therefore, conventions are the perfect place to meet new friends.
  • Guests. Mark Waid. Chris Samnee. Ray Fawkes. Keith Giffen. J.M. DeMatteis. Kevin Maguire. Ron Marz. Charles Soule. Art Baltazar. Franco. And lots and lots more for an unlistable number of different reasons.
  • Art. As I’ve said, I love art. I have no wall space, but that never actually stops me. And even when I choose not to buy a particular piece of art, I absolutely love to look at all the amazing things people create.
  • Comics! What kind of a comics fan would I be if I neglected to mention looking forward to the comics! I’m still a relatively new reader of comics, so I’m constantly finding new stories to read. And at every convention, my interests are slightly different. Which makes a convention full of comics a very dangerous (in a good way) place to be.

And there you have it, some of the things I love and some of the things I’m looking forward to. How about you? Did I miss your favourite part? And if you’re going to be there, let me know! I’d love the opportunity to meet even more new friends.

Leave a Reply

