Comics: Mini Rambles – July 31, 2013

Howdy folks, and welcome to the first of a hopefully weekly column of mini reviews of the comics I pick up each week. I don’t quite have a name for it yet, but I’ll see what ideas develop. And I’m completely open to suggestions!

BatmanAnnual2

Batman Annual #2

Even though figuring out the timing of this story threw me off a bit, it’s a good solid issue. Batman is helping to test the security at Arkham Asylum, and there’s a new antagonist, though I wasn’t completely sold on her motivation.

CaptainMarvel14

Captain Marvel #14

The final part of The Enemy Within. Heartbreaking. Utterly heartbreaking.

Daredevil29

Daredevil #29

Less epic than previous issues, but a really solid basis for a new arc. And I love that the new threat is much more “real world” than previous ones.

PrisonersofTime7

Doctor Who Prisoners of Time #7

Solid, but a bit formulaic. The Seventh Doctor feels like the Seventh Doctor. I just wish there’d been a little more focus on the mysterious bad guy.

FF10

FF #10

Glorious, amazing, insane, brilliant crack. Also known as, when creators become part of the story. And a macro micro tiger. I wasn’t sure about FF when I started reading it, but the more I read, the more I adore it.

FlashAnnual2

The Flash Annual #2

As anyone who’s known me for any length of time can attest, I love the Flash. I’m not quite as sold on Green Lantern, but after this issue, I certainly wouldn’t say no to seeing more of the two teaming up together. And the second story in this annual was absolutely gorgeous.

IndestructibleHulk11

Indestructible Hulk #11

Post Age of Ultron. The Hulk is going to save Time. Yep. Seriously though, read it.

2 responses to “Comics: Mini Rambles – July 31, 2013

  • MASHFanficChick

    Gah, you are making me want to read comics! *thinks mournfully of all her unread comics, currently locked away in her attic* This was really fun to read. I look forward to seeing next week’s issue. 🙂

    • GeekGirlRamblings

      Then I’m doing my job right! Also, next time I see you, you are going to read at least a few issues of FF. If not for Hawkeye, I might say it’s the single most awesome comic I’ve read lately.

Leave a Reply

