Another Year at Wizard World Philadelphia

Wizard World Philadelphia
May 30 – June 2, 2013

Even though I’ve been attending Wizard World Philadelphia regularly for the last five years, it’s not one of my favorite conventions.

There are a few reasons I keep going to it.

  • Location. It’s less than 30 minutes away from my house.
  • Friends. Some that stay with me as fellow fans, some that are at the convention as professionals, and some that I run into at the con itself.
  • Comics. Conventions are a relatively inexpensive way of filling in blanks in my comic collection.
  • Art. I have a huge weakness for art. I have no wall space, and yet I keep buying more.

But Wizard World is becoming less and less about the comics and more and more about the celebrity guests. Celebrities are great, and I have no problem with the people who choose to go to a convention with the goal of meeting a favourite actor. But I also have no desire to wait in line for however many hours to spend $40 for a 10 second interaction with someone. I prefer to wander through Artist’s Alley and talk to people. Between drooling over all the gorgeous art, I mean.

And that’s exactly what I did. I spent hours talking to artists and writers, caught up with some people I only see at this particular convention, and bought a somewhat disturbing amount of art. Especially considering my lack of wall space.


Along with the art, I picked up some comics. Not as many as I’d expected, to be honest, but a decent amount nonetheless. There were less cheap comic booths than I remember from last year, but the ones that were there had a lot of good stuff.

I didn’t make it to any panels, but I didn’t really try. As fun as panels can be, I still prefer interacting with people one on one, not sitting in the audience with hundreds of other people.

Overall, this year’s Wizard World Philadelphia was a fun, if not fantastic, convention. I’d still plan to attend next year, except for on thing. HeroesCon is the same weekend. I hate to say it, but as much as I’ll miss seeing the friends that I only see at Wizard World, it’s not actually a hard decision.

Leave a Reply

