Baltimore Comic Con is Quickly Approaching

September 8-9, 2012
Baltimore Comic Con

It’s not often that I get to attend a convention that I’ve never been to before. Most of the conventions I go to are ones that I’ve been going to for at least a few years.

Tribal Forces, six years. Gallifrey One, three years. Chicago Tardis, two years. New York Comic Con, four years.

And it’s been even longer since I’ve been to a convention that I don’t really know anyone at. I’ll know my roommates, of course, but as far as I know, those are the only two people I’ll know in advance. In addition, I’ve never been to a true comic convention before. New York Comic Con and Wizard World are both comic cons, that include many other types of media. Not a bad thing, in any way, but it means that this convention will truly be something new.

Baltimore Comic Con is going to be an adventure. One that I’m incredibly excited about.

So in no particular order, things that I am looking forward to.

  • Mark Waid: The Flash is my absolute favourite character, and I read almost the entire run that Mark Waid wrote over the course of about a week. It took just about the same amount of time to read all of Impulse, which is still one of my go-to series when I’ve a had a bad day.
  • Scott Snyder: The current writer of Batman, which I am absolutely loving.
  • Josh Fialkov: One of the writers of IDW’s Doctor Who comic, and someone I met at Gallifrey One earlier this year, but didn’t have nearly enough time to talk to.
  • Panels: None of the panels caught my attention at the last comic convention I attended, but I have so many interests right now, there’s bound to be something that I want to go to!
  • Artist’s Alley: Almost universally my favourite part of comic conventions. Even before I started reading comics, I was perfectly happy to spend hours wandering artist’s alley, looking at the amazing artwork. Now, almost everything catches my attention, and I could probably spend the entire weekend simply looking at art and talking to artists.
  • Meeting new people: I know it sounds cliche, but I really do love to meet new people at conventions. Sometime in the past few years, I went from being agonisingly shy to being shy but willing to work past it. And it’s made conventions a lot more fun.
  • Discovering new comics: I’m still a relatively new fan of comics. That means there’s a million and one things I’ve never read or don’t know about. And while I’m finally starting to get a feel for what I like, I still love to be introduced to things I wouldn’t have considered on my own.
  • A convention for my birthday: I’ve always wanted to go to a convention during my birthday. But the only one that I knew of at the right time of year was Dragon*Con, which isn’t really feasible. And even though I’ll be spending my actual birthday on a bus, having a convention for my birthday weekend is fantastic!
  • Everthing!: Because Baltimore Comic Con is a new convention for me, I honestly am looking forward to everything.

Those are just a few of the things that I’m highly anticipating at Baltimore Comic Con. I’m sure there are an infinite number of things that I haven’t even considered though.

If you’ve been there before, I’d love to hear your thoughts on the convention.

And so I’ll end with a question to everyone out there, new or long time attendees: What are you looking forward to the most?

2 responses to “Baltimore Comic Con is Quickly Approaching

Leave a Reply

