Comic Review: Earth 2 #1

Earth 2 #1
“The Price of Victory”
Writer: James Robinson
Pencils: Nicola Scott
Inks: Trevor Scott
Colors: Alex Sinclair
Letters: Dezi Sienty
Cover artists: Ivan Reis, Joe Prado, & Rod Reis (regular)/Bryan Hitch & Paul Mounts (variant)
Editor: Pat McCallum
Publisher: DC Comics
Price: $3.99 US

.

.

I haven’t been doing reviews of comics here, because, basically, my knowledge is so limited that I’m reading things in no particular order. I’m still rather overwhelmed, and I admit to being a little bit scared that my opinions and impressions will be completely different than how people felt about them when they first came out. Even the DC reboot is frightening, as many of the comments I see are based on the history of the DC universe; a history that I don’t know.

So I’ve been avoiding reviewing comics.

But today I stopped into the comic shop for my weekly visit. And I found myself paging through Earth 2 #1. I’ve been hearing a lot about Earth 2 in the past week, but I hadn’t actually intended to buy it. That lasted right up until I opened it up.

I’m not going to go into details about the story itself, so I will just say that maybe it’s my lack of experience or knowledge about comics, but I really didn’t expect what happened. Which is in absolutely no way a bad thing. And that is all I will say about the plot.

The art is stunning and the detail is absolutely amazing. While the panels could feel cluttered, they somehow don’t. Despite how much is in each panel, my focus is always on the character(s) that is central to that moment. And the amount of information that is conveyed in each of the busy panels make the less busy ones all the more powerful.

I love that the story opens with an unknown narrator, one who’s identity we don’t discover until later in the issue. I adore all the emotions that I experienced in this first issue. But what I think I enjoy the most may simply be connected to my comics knowledge (or lack thereof). I have a slightly more than basic knowledge of Superman, Batman, and Wonder Woman. I don’t, however, know much about Jay Garrick, Alan Scott, or any of the other characters who’s names I peripherally recognise.

Since I started reading DC, which was really only a few months ago, I’ve felt rather out of place. I don’t know the history, I didn’t grow up with the characters, etc. But with Earth 2, we’re all starting to find out together. Even if the characters existed in the past, the ones we meet now aren’t going to be exactly the same. I don’t have to worry about not knowing the details. The details haven’t happened yet.

To say I loved it doesn’t do Earth 2 enough justice. It’s not often that I finish a comic and immediately turn back to the beginning to read it again. But that’s exactly what I did. So if you haven’t read it, go pick it up, read it, and come back here so I have someone to talk about it with.

Leave a Reply

