Book Review: Chicks Dig Comics

Chicks Dig Comics:
A Celebration of Comic Books by the Women Who Love Them

edited by Lynne M. Thomas and Sigrid Ellis

Mad Norwegian Press
http://www.madnorwegian.com/
ISBN: 978-1935234050
Release Date: April 10, 2012

I never questioned that I was going to love Chicks Dig Comics. I am a massive fan of Chicks Dig Time Lords and Whedonistas, a girl, a geek, and I have recently discovered a new obsession with comic books. Add all those factors together, and this book could have been written for me.

From the introduction onward, I knew this book was going to be special. I could see not only myself, but other comic readers I know, right from the start. How many girls grew up thinking they were alone in their love of comics? Even today, how many of them think they are reading the “wrong” comics, the ones that aren’t aimed at the female audience? For that matter, how many men think the same thing? Generally, comics have been geared towards boys, but as it is changing slowly, we’re reaching a point where anyone can read anything, and it’s perfectly okay.

The thing I truly love about this book is that it treats itself as a celebration. And that’s exactly what it is (in fact, it’s in the title). It’s more than a series of essays about women who read, work on, and dream about comics; it could be better described as a love story. Women love comics, and that is a fact that pours off the pages.

  • Gail Simone: “Comics, the good ones, they can inspire, they can fire the imagination, they can please the senses and the heart and feed the soul.”
  • Erica McGillivray talks about how an accidental stumble into the world of cosplay changed her life
  • Jill Pantozzi: “To me, comics are a form of entertainment, but they’ve managed to make me feel more than anything else ever has, and that’s likely one of the major reasons I keep coming back for more.”
  • Sigrid Ellis explains how reading comics helped her come out to herself about her sexuality.
  • Tara O’Shea: “Something I never once thought I’d see in my lifetime: a comics geek girl just like the one I had been at her age, on a panel. A comics professional. Dressed as Supergirl. I may have teared up, I was so overcome with joy. Because no-one batted an eye.”
  • Tammy Garrison: “Be who you are, especially if it is Batman. It might not be popular, the other superheroes might hate and fear you a little, but be who you are, deep down inside. Be the best you can be at what you do.”
  • Anika Milik teaches us that wearing a costume, even (or especially) a less than obvious one, can remind us that we are all superheroes.

I could go on (and on and on and on), but I don’t want to quote the entire book. I recognise part of myself in every story. You don’t have to be a cosplayer to understand the impact costumes can have. If your experience with comics is reading them, you can still relate to the people who are part of their creation. And if you’re reading this, I can only assume that you already love comics, on some level; how can you not see yourself in other people who share that love?

I didn’t grow up reading comics, in fact I’m still in my infancy when it comes to what I’ve read and my knowledge of them. But if this inexperienced Geek Girl can find something to relate to in each essay and interview, I can only imagine what long time comic readers will see.

If you’re a chick who digs comics, go pick up Chicks Dig Comics. If you’re anyone who loves comics, go pick it up too. It is absolute brilliance.

Leave a Reply

