And the new companion is… (spoilers)

I woke up this morning to the announcement of the new Doctor Who companion. My reaction: yay? Is that the right response? I’m not entirely sure.

“So, who is it?” you’re asking, if you haven’t seen the news yet.

Jenna-Louise Coleman!

See, here’s the thing, I have no idea who she is. Even after I looked her up on IMDB and wikipedia, I still have no idea who she is. And, in my opinion, it doesn’t really matter.

I don’t love every companion in Doctor Who. Sometimes there are companions that I even dislike (okay, not really, I can find something I like in pretty much all of them). But the person playing the companion is almost irrelevant. I’m much more interesting in the character, the stories, and the possibilities that a new character brings.

So I’m not particularly surprised by the casting, but I’m not disappointed either. If the people who cast one of my favourite television shows saw something special in her, I’ll trust them.

But I’m definitely more excited to just sit back and see what stories Doctor Who holds for us.

2 responses to “And the new companion is… (spoilers)

Leave a Reply

