New Year’s Resolutions

Yes, I know I’m somewhat (very) late with this, but it’s taken a while to finish organising my thoughts. But I’m still thinking about it, so here is my ramble on New Year’s resolutions.

I don’t actually make New Year’s resolutions. I’ve long since realised that they primarily exist to see how long it takes to give up on them. And I don’t like to admit defeat. But I do make goals, and if those goals overlap one year to the next, I suppose they could be seen as resolutions.

My current major goal is to find a job and move to New York City. But that’s been a goal for many months now. It’s not a resolution. I hear lots of people say that their resolution is to go to the gym. I already do that. I guess I could say that my resolution is to keep going to the gym, but  again, that’s not really a resolution.

So I decided that, once again, I wouldn’t be making any New Year’s resolutions this year. And then I saw this tweet from the Broadway production of Priscilla, Queen of the Desert.


At its literal interpretation, it simply says “More glitter.” I’m not a glitter person. It gets everywhere and then starts multiplying. I don’t really feel the need to shed sparkles as I go through my day. A second interpretation is to see Priscilla on Broadway more. I like that one better, but, again, it’s something I planned to do anyway. And then I started thinking deeper.

I’m still writing a full post on Priscilla, so I’m not going to pre-empt that now, but I will try to explain how “More glitter” become the resolution of this very non-glittery geek girl.

The first time I saw Priscilla, I couldn’t stop thinking about it afterwards. It made me smile and laugh and sing along with the cd in the car. It made me feel safe when I was driving through not-so-good neighbourhoods. The second time I saw it was in the middle of a very miserable and depressing holiday season. I needed something to cheer me up, and Priscilla was the perfect distraction. But that time, I also found a deeper meaning in it. It reminded me that being different is special, not something to hide. Be proud of who you are, even if not everyone approves. And sometimes it’s okay to fall a little bit in love with a show that is the complete opposite of you.

So “More glitter” is about so much more than just glitter. It’s a reminder of the things that a show I didn’t expect to like has taught me. It’s a resolution to be proud of myself and to remember that little, unexpected things can make me happy. And if I bought a glittery shirt to occasionally wear to help me remember that, then so be it.

Leave a Reply

