My Top 5 Shows of 2011

I really wanted to write a post about my top five favourite shows I saw in 2011. But I only saw five shows, so instead I’m going to write about why I loved each of them.

I remember seeing Miss Saigon many years ago on Broadway, but when I got the chance to see it in Philadelphia, I jumped at the chance. I adore the music, and it hits the part of me that loves musicals that don’t end with everyone happy.

It’s Follies, need I say more?

Next to Normal was hard and painful and amazing, all at the same time. It made me realise some things that I hadn’t known, and even though it took weeks after seeing the show to be able to listen to it again, it ultimately changed my life.

The show that made me fall back in love with theatre. Maybe it wasn’t perfect, but it had something special that reminded me that anything is possible.

Priscilla deserves, and will eventually get, a post of its own. It’s not the type of show I normally enjoy, but it somehow became the one I fall back on when I’ve had a bad day or just need something to make me smile. So far I’ve seen it twice, and I certainly wouldn’t mind seeing it again. Scratch that, I definitely want to see it again. The cd was on almost constant repeat in my car for weeks after seeing the show the first time, and it got me through some incredibly hard times both at work and at home. It’s keeps me dreaming and forces me to remember that it’s okay to be who I am. Me is a good person, and I don’t need to change for anyone else.

So there you have it, my favourite shows from 2011. Hopefully next year there will be more than just five to choose from, but considering that I only rediscovered my love of theatre six months ago, this wasn’t a bad year at all.

Leave a Reply

